Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emilynewhome

Where Do I Need Dedicated Circuits?

emilynewhome
14 years ago

Please help, we're purchasing a tract home (yes moving again)! in Texas. The builder's upgrade sheet states they will put in additional dedicated circuits @$130 each.

I'm assuming there's a minimum code that they follow especially for kitchen appliances, but where else would I want dedicated circuits? TV, computer, garage, exterior, generator stub out? Appreciate any advice.

Thanks!

Comments (7)

• sfjeff
    14 years ago

If you don't have a wiring diagram for the house, see if you can get one. At least get a detailed breaker list. You need to know where you are starting.

If you haven't already checked out a "readable" Code book, that would be worthwhile. Taunton's Code Check series is pretty good, in my opinion, and covers things like how many circuits you need where. I'm not a licensed electrician, and don't know Texas state or local code, but some of the things I'd consider are:

* Bathrooms -- as I recall, you could "share" bathroom circuits among multiple bathrooms. One hair dryer about maxes out a circuit. One circuit per bathroom, plus lighting in them, in my opinion.

* Kitchen -- if its only $130, bring in wiring for a range, a wall oven, as well as another for other 220V appliances (such as a high-end espresso maker) Consider extra countertop circuits if there are only two. If you have a toaster oven and a microwave, you're stand mixer will trip one of the two circuits.

* Computers/DVRs -- I'd invest in a good UPS rather than a dedicated circuit, unless you run servers 24x7. $270 into a erfurbished APC SUA1500 or the like is, in my opinion, a better investment than a dedicated line. Same for your three digital DVRs.

* Outside -- think of places you want power. You probably don't need an additional circuit, but more just a GFCI outlet and rain cover:
    - By the grill for a light
    - Near the back and front hoses for the power washer