Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meddam_gw

Converting a 3 pole to a one pole switch

meddam
9 years ago

Let me start by saying that I'm not an electrician, but I'm usually capable to switching out lights/outlets/switches. I wanted to change a cream switch to white in my hall that ran just the hall light. I was surprised when I found 3 wires (not including the ground) coming out of the light. I unwired it, realized it was different from the one pole switch I bought & so put it back together while I thought about it/googled. Now that it is retired, it suddenly runs the office next to the hall. I have no idea why anyone would want to control the outlet in the office from the hall, or why it suddenly works (I guess something was loose?). The switch in the office only runs the office, not the hall.

So my question is, can I make this into a one pole switch by capping a wire or by combining two wires together or something? All my searches turn up how to remove the switch entirely.

Thanks in advance!

Comments (6)

• Ron Natalie
    9 years ago

I'm very confused. What do you mean retired? Are you sure the switch in the hall controls the office receptacle?
    It's a three-way (not three-pole) switch. There should be another switch somewhere that also controls the hall light (typically at the far end of the hall or perhaps if there is a run of stairs, at the bottom of the stairs).

The second hall light switch is a convenience which you could remove. If the second switch is at the other end of a stairway, this is a SAFETY issue (not electrical but building safety for requiring stairs to be lit). You should not be removing the second switch in that situation.

There's not currently enough information in your post to answer this fully, but yes typically, you can disable the second switch and put a single-way switch in. How to do that depends on how things are wired. Of course, the easiest way would just be to replace it with another three way.