Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krycek1984

Extra Outlet

krycek1984
13 years ago

So, I have a question that maybe you can help me with. This is my first time owning a home so be easy on me. My partner's Dad is a retired electrician so he knows all there is to know about this stuff but I'm trying to be independent. He hooked up our 220's we needed (I guess that's what it's called) for our oven and dryer.

I am thinking about converting our enclosed porch to a sunroom. In order to do so, I will need some sort of outlet to plug a baseboard heater into.

We have 100 amp service. The house was built in 1910 but the PO rewired the house with romex and put the new box in with 100 amp service from the street, thank god.

My partner says we don't have any free breakers, but I don't know what he's talking about. I went down there tonight and saw a breaker that still has a piece of gray over it:

From 2010-10-01

Doesn't this mean there's still one free breaker?

We also need at some point to have an electrician come in and make a light fixture or two in our Parlor...all we have right now is an electrical outlet that is connected to the switch on the wall so we have a couple lamps plugged into it. Odd.

Comments (17)

• krycek1984
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Also, I will add, interestingly enough, even though we only have 100 amp service, I can run the oven/stove, microwave, and two air conditioners all that the same time and not trip anything. I only tripped the breakers once when I first got the house.

• Ron Natalie
    13 years ago

Using the full size breakers (as you have) you have one position left. You might get a 120V space heater, but most electric baseboards are 220 which will require the double breakers like the two on the bottom (most likely the stove and air conditioner or hot water heater).