Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mr7o4

Electrical Mess - Shared Netural Same Phase

Mr7o4
11 years ago

HELP! I have some issues...

While adding a pantry/closet I decided to rewire my kitchen light/switch, as the BX was too short to where I wanted to put a new switch. I pulled the kitchen light fixture and the drywall was charred, wires burnt, insulation cracking, etc.

I decided to trace out the wiring and replace the entire branch feeding the light (and two outlets). I put a toner on the hot to trace out the circuit, but then found it had some stray voltage on it. Put a meter on it and it read about 20VAC to ground/neutral with the breaker off. So I pulled the dead front on the load center and found that there is a 14/3 wire feeding both the kitchen light / garage circuit and another breaker - both are on the same phase. I killed the other breaker which removed the stray voltage, but I honestly can't find what the second breaker even powers.

Not being an electrician, my question is couldn't the two circuits on the same phase with a common neutral cause the neutral to be overloaded? Most of my wiring is older - late 60's but should be fine in my opinion (BX w/bonding strip). The insulation on the wires to the kitchen light fixture were brittle and cracking, and the drywall around the box was singed. All I can assume is that the circuits sharing a neutral should be on different legs, but I'm not positive on that. I pulled the hots out of the panel and tried to trace them, but they're all over the place - Can anybody with experience tell me why this might have been done in the past?

It's like Pandora's Box opening up this stuff. So many issues - In the attic, any newer circuit the previous owner ran with NM is just pushed into a junction box with the knockout half bent in - no connectors. And wire nuts? Forget 'em! Just twist and tape them together. Almost every switch I pull has blackened wires from arcing because they were so incredibly loose.