Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grandmum_gw

New AC unit - Wiring, Code?

grandmum
10 years ago

Thinking of getting new AC compressor unit. Currently the old has been supplied by 10/2 I think on a 30 amp breaker.

I live in Chicagoland, everything is in conduit. In my house that is the case.....except for this line and my dryer line.

Both have flexible black cable that houses the conductors (kind of like the flexible yellow romex). Is this against code?

Do you think its acceptable to use the new AC with the old flexible cable or will I be forced or would want to change it to rigid conduit?

Comments (11)

• Ron Natalie
    10 years ago

I'm not an expert on the Chicago Municipal code, but certain cables are permitted (MC, MI) in some circumstances. What does the writing say on the outside of the cable jacket?

• grandmum
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The AC line reads
    "Columbia 10/3 ground type UF sunlight resitant"

its a flater cable than the dryer line that reads:

"Type NM 8-8-3 with ground 600 volts"

Both of which run in ceiling joists about 40 feet between panel and appliance. AC been in service 30 years and the dryer for 15.

Its not municipal Chicago either, which may or may not have different codes than the surrounding area.

• User
    10 years ago

What size A/C unit do you have? 10/3 and 30A is rather small. My 4-ton A/C unit is 6/3 and 50A. If you are upgrading the A/C unit, that might force your hand to increase the wiring.

• mike_kaiser_gw
    10 years ago

Generally speaking the closer you live to Chicago the more likely it is that non-metallic cable is prohibited. Of course, you can buy the stuff anywhere, so plenty of people use it. There are also some municipalities at allowed it, then disallowed it.

• Ron Natalie
    10 years ago

Well, I won't argue the vagaries of Chicago's code but the internal use of NM would be valid elsewhere.