Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cz9h3d

Removing Switch from Disposal

cz9h3d
11 years ago

I'm installing an air button activated switch for my disposal, so I opened up the box to get rid of the wall switch. My thinking was to just remove the switch and connect the two wires - simple, huh?

The attached is what I found! The GFCI outlet in the same box is powered solely by the leads that go through the switch. I'm not an electrician, but this seems very wrong. Also explains why the outlet has always been "junk", making things hum, affected when the disposal is turned on etc.

Note in the back left corner is another lead - is it just me, or did they run that wire too short when they built the house, so they did a quick (and questionable) fix to make the outlet work?

I'm thinking I should open up the disposal outlet and just remove the switch from the circuit (it is on it's own circuit). The I should use the other wire to connect to the GFCI. Make sense? I'll make sure that wire is live, and determine what circuit it's on first....

Comments (7)

• brickeyee
    11 years ago

It sounds like someone put a receptacle on a switch loop.

Garbage disposals should not be on the kitchen counter receptacle circuits, and the GD circuit should not be used to feed a counter receptacle

• kurto
    11 years ago

I don't see an attachment. It's hard to understand what's going on based solely on your description. If the two leads from your switch are the only connection to a GFCI, then it wouldn't work at all, since there would be no neutral connection.

• cz9h3d
    Original Author
    11 years ago

My picture seems to have disappeared...Here it is again.

The disposal is on its own circuit...but had a GFCI outlet connected to it in the switch loop!

• kurto
    11 years ago