Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diy_rook

Gentran transfer switch L14-30

diy_rook
10 years ago

Electric newbie here..I was recently given a generator and my house always had a Gentran transfer switch (Gentran 30216) that has a L14-30 inlet. My garage has a receptacle that feeds directly to the Gentran.

My problem is that the new generator (Devilbiss GB5000 with a Briggs Genpower 10.0) doesn't have a L14 out and has what I think is Nema 6-20. Am I able to come up with a cord with a 6-20 three prong on one side and a 4 prong L14 on the other end?

Thanks in advance.

Comments (27)

• petey_racer
    10 years ago

Sorry, but no. You CANNOT use that generator to backfeed a home.
    You have a 120V receptacle and a straight 240V receptacle, but not a 120/240V rated receptacle you need.

Some will say jury-rig it and combine the two you have but no way in hell I would do that. It's just not worth it.

• diy_rook
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Ok - Even though it would be sending 240 to the Gentran transfer switch which then has 4 15 amp circuits for 120 and a 220? I thought I could backfeed that switch with the 240 alone and the Gentran switch would determine the 220 or 120? I'm not backfeeding directly to my main box.

Thanks

• petey_racer
    10 years ago

It doesn't matter.
    You CANNOT get 120V from 240V without a neutral, and your 240V receptacle on the genny has NO neutral. That is the problem.

• Ron Natalie
    10 years ago

As pointed out, those generator will not work and there's no way to "kludge" it so it does. It's not just a connector issue, there's no center tap on the 240 output side to make the 120/240 work.

• diy_rook
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you both for the responses. Looks like I'll have to sell this one and get a new one.

What would be the minimum size gen to power a 6 switch transfer switch? 4 at 120 with 15amp the 2 combined for my well pump at 220.

• bus_driver
    10 years ago