Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
udelslayer

Spa cabling into cabinet.

udelslayer
10 years ago

I'll try to keep this to the point.

My "electrician" wired the tub (guy actually sells spas) and ran UF-B (#6/3, non-insulated ground) cable in gray plastic electrical conduit with liquid tight flexible whip from the hard conduit to the cabinet underneath. He did not run the flexible liquid tight cable into the cabinet body, but did run the jacket of the UF-B up into the cabinet. I'm not an electrician, but I am smart enough to know that the conduit could take on small amounts of water and freeze, and additionally the non-insulated ground really bothers me after doing a bit of research. Needless to say, I'm going to rewire this with #6 thhn/thwn2 and get that ground insulated. Its been 3 weeks and everything is working fine, but I think it will cause problems down the road after its been in there some time. I could imagine the ground would corrode without insulation and cause all sorts of havoc. Am I wrong about this?

My question is this: When I run the whip back up to the cabinet, I may drill into the side for the liquid tight flexible conduit to connect to or through. Do I use a water-tight connector fitting at the side of the cabinet where it meets the conduit there and run the 4 thhn wires into the control housing or do I need to run part of the flexible conduit through the cabinet to near the control box and use some kind of grommet to seal the conduit hole at the cabinet? I cant find examples anywhere of how the conduit is run through the cabinet wall. I may go back underneath but that might be a struggle getting the connector head sealed against the body from the bottom. I guess if I ran it underneath, I could make sure that the conduit goes into the cabinet body and silicone it, but I'd still want to seal the end where the wires exit the conduit to actually make it water tight.

Advice/examples?

Thanks
J

Comments (17)

• Ron Natalie
    10 years ago