Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suepafly_gw

Lots of panels, no empty spaces

suepafly
11 years ago

We purchased a house from someone who did a lot of work themselves. I'm pretty new to electrical stuff. Sorry if I confuse some terms.

We have a 200A main panel. It has a 100A sub panel right next to it, neither accept tandem breakers. From our service, there is another thick wire running to our garage, where there is a 40 space panel, it doesn't have any main breakers. This panel is complete full as well. It has an 80A sub panel running to our pool filter and heater.

I'd really only need a 4-6 spaces near the main panel, but I'm not sure about what way to get them. Everything is very poorly labeled on the panels. The major things I have in my home is 2 wells, one using 30A, another using 20A and 4 HVAC systems. I know replacing a panel with something that accepts tandems would most likely be expensive. I'm not sure what to do, any help would be appreciated!

Comments (8)

• Ron Natalie
    11 years ago

Well your choices are really to either put more subpanels (moving some circuits from the existing panel to the subpanel to make room for the feeder breaker) or replace one of the existing ones with more spaces available.

You may wish to consult an electrician, especially to check over the existing harry homeowner work. By the way, there's nothing wrong with a subpanel not having a main breaker inside it (provided it is in the same structure). The feeder breaker in the panel it is fed from protects the wiring/panel. This is why they make main lug style panels to begin with.

• texasredhead
    11 years ago

You really need to have a pro look at this. You don't say. but I guess you probably have 30+ circuits full. We have a very large home with a pool that is handled with a 200amp panel with about six unused places in our panel.

• suepafly
    Original Author
    11 years ago