Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ecranny

need help with code compliance and inspection

ecranny
13 years ago

I am almost finished rewiring my house, and I have no prior experience of doing this, but I spent a couple of months reading the NEC book and researching on the web, especially here. I have 2 concerns at this point: 1) did I get it right? and 2) what does a 'rough-in inspection' require. As far as the first concern goes, I can only hope that I gained enough knowlege to do the work correctly. For the second concern, I have no idea what a 'rough-in' inspection requires... I have assumed that so long as everything is visible/inspectable I should be ok.. but I did make up connections everywhere, just didn't stuff the wries into boxes etc.. I would appreciate any comments/suggestions and here aare a few samples of what I did.

btw, the blue and black cables that are hanging down are phone and video.. I will secure them at some point...

TIA

Comments (11)

• samneric
    13 years ago

I have 2 questions about these pictures.

1) The romex connected to the K&T wiring: is the romex supplying power to the K&T or is the romex extending the K&T circuit?

2) In the panel, the feeder ground wire doesn't look like it's coming from the feeder conduit. Maybe that's just the angle of the picture. Anyway, the conduit at the bottom of the picture has a white wire that looks like it's landed at the ground bar instead of the neutral bar. Is this where the wire is actually landed?!?

• Ron Natalie
    13 years ago

I guess some of it depends on local practice. Here they don't want to see connections made during the rough-in stage. What's with the purple wire nuts on the K&T? In the second photo is there really 12 and 14g romex spliced together? What's the OCD on that circuit?