Return to the Electrical Wiring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
ac-dc transformer question

Posted by blaster1492 (My Page) on
Sun, May 4, 14 at 23:46

Hi all,
Electrical novice here. Trying to figure out my undercabinet lighting and having a technical issue...hoping someone might be able to help!
My wife and I want led rope lights (http://www.amazon.com/LEDwholesalers-Flexible-300xSMD2835-Adhesive-2026WW-31K/dp/B002QQ48TK/ref=cm_cd_ql_qh_dp_t) to be run under the cabinets and wired directly to a dimmer switch. However, this is DC power, so usually it is run through an AC-DC transformer and then plugged into a normal wall switch. We don't want a wire and a plug to be there all the time. To be honest I didn't even think this would be an issue since I would think most people want their undercabinet lights on a switch.

Does anyone have any solutions so I can direct-wire these types of lights to a wall dimmer switch? Is there some other type of transformer that converts DC to AC without necessitating a plug?

Thanks so much for your help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: ac-dc transformer question

Yes, there are hardwired transformers available. Just google "hardwired lighting transformers"

o

Google WAC lighting.transformer.

o