Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
imnobobvila

Lone 14/2 into...

ImNoBobVila
10 years ago

Hello, I scored a clearance deal on four, plug-in, LED under cabinet lights at Lowes and would like to have an outlet for them wired to a switch.

I came across this lone, live wire above the built in microwave. This is an older home (late 70's/early 80's) and some of the tacked on wiring looks half-assed. The bright yellow wire is into the duplex receptacle box for the microwave.

Anyways, I would like to have a duplex outlet in the cupboard that I can plug two of the LED under cabinet lights into (they're linkable so I only need to plug in one on each side of the oven). A switch added to the current location would be nice, but if it would be much easier to place a occupancy type automatic switch near the oven, I'm fine with that too.

I'm completely new to this so any ideas and suggestions (instructions) are welcome, I'm all ears!

Comments (18)

• ImNoBobVila
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Sorry for the hard to read writing on the 1st pic, I guess I shrunk it a little too much. The wire is above the microwave, where the red writing is...

• Ron Natalie
    10 years ago

Get an electrician. That gob of electrical tape is illegal and unsafe. Connections need to be made in boxes.

• ImNoBobVila
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I don't need an electrician.

I realize the capped and electrical taped wire (not my work) may not be up to code AND that the yellow wire would be better off in a metal conduit BUT realize that there is a piece of wood I removed exposing the vent hood and open wire area...so consider the area not much different than an attic/basement type area in dealing with code.

• bus_driver
    10 years ago

So it is established that it will be done however the person wishes, regardless of code conventions. So, don't ask questions, just do your thing.

• mike_kaiser_gw
    10 years ago