Return to the Electrical Wiring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
under cabinet wiring

Posted by hil357 (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 22, 13 at 15:38

Please forgive my ignorance... I have zero electrical experience. Am trying to figure out if we can do this ourselves. I have attached a poor attempt at outlining where we currently have under cab lighting (marked in red). They are halogen bars that are each directly wired. We hate that we have to currently turn each on one by one - and they get really hot. So, we're thinking of starting from scratch w/ one of these kits from InspiredLED: http://inspiredled.com/Shop-by-Project/kitchen-lighting

The problem we run into is trying to get lighting to the wall w/ the pantry on it, and ideally I'd like to have lighting under the open shelf on the wall opposite. Would this just be a matter of their 'in wall cables' down to our basement and back up through the walls? The basement below is unfinished and I can see the current romex going up to the kitchen. Should we abandon the romex that is currently there? Again, I just want to hit a switch and have it all turn on. Any info you can provide would be appreciated!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: under cabinet wiring

If you can fish things down to the basement, then you can run new wiring. What are these lights currently connected to? Is there already a light switch somewhere that controls them?

o

If you can fish things down to the basement, then you can run new wiring. What are these lights currently connected to? Is there already a light switch somewhere that controls them?

o

Unfinished basements are an electricians dream. With all of that access, almost anything is possible.

o

ronnatalie - currently they are all on one circuit but I believe connected to other things - no wall switch at all (have to be individually turned on!)