Return to the Electrical Wiring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Buzzing sound

Posted by proud_granny (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 19, 07 at 17:14

I tried posting a message yesterday but evidently it didn't go through! I'm new at this!

I have a real problem. For months now, I hear a buzzing sound at night time that drives me crazy! My husband cannot hear it (has some hearing problems) but it keeps me awake for hours! If I get 4 hours of sleep a night, I am doing well. But I can't go on like this!

Someone suggested that it might be a wiring problem. The fuse box is in the basement, just below our bedroom. The electric meter is on the outside wall of our bedroom. Is it possible that either of those things could be causing the buzzing sound?

This morning I woke up around 5 and the buzzing was very disturbing so I went out into the living room (other end of the house) and could still hear it! I also heard it in the bathroom and the other bedroom.

Is there any possibility that bad electrical wiring can cause physical problems?

I sure hope someone can give me some answers on what could be causing this disturbing buzzing sound!

Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Buzzing sound

Not likely bad wiring. As a test you could try turning off your main breaker and see if goes away. If it does then try turning off circuits one at a time until you hit the one that make the noise stop. Then investigate things connected to that circuit. It could something like a doorbell transformer but not the actual wiring in your house..

o

If it was some type of electrical problem you would hear it all the time just not at night I would think. Please don't take this the wrong way, but you might want to have your ears checked. A friend of mine had a terrible time with ringing ears but it was all the time not just at night. Another option is to go to the electrial panel when you hear the buzzing to see if the noise is more intense there.

o