Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
weedmeister_gw

Portable vs Standy Generators

weedmeister
11 years ago

I was wondering what the pros would have to say about the following question and response from a company that sells portable generators. I understand that there is a difference in the NEC when describing (and connecting) portable emergency generators versus fixed standby generators.

------------------
I'm a licensed NH Electrician I have a Honeywell 7500Watt Portable Generator that will be used to supply selected loads in a non-separately derived residential application as outlined by the 2011 NEC. The tag on this generator indicated that the neutral is bonded to the frame. I need to know if this generator can be made into a floating neutral generator without voiding listings or warranty. If the answer is yes then where and how does the manufacture recommend the removal of the bond? And will the manufacture send a new label that indicates the generator is now a floating neutral generator. This will be an issue with any generator that has its neutral bonded to the frame portable or stationary. Any info that you can give me will be a great help.

Regards,

Ron T.

by Ron T. from New Hampshire on January 08, 2012

A: The manufacturer does not recommend removing the bonded neutral from the generator and neither do I and just about 97% of generators on the market have a bonded neutral.

If you need to break the neutral in the generator backup set-up then you need to go with a GFI type transfer switch such as the Reliance Controls "X" series switches.

Note: Typically these switches are not required unless the large transfer switch outlet on the generator is GFI protected which is found on Professional generators such as the Generac "XP" models and not the "XG" model.