Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dkotov

Plug molds and undercabinet LED lights - prep work - need help?

Denitza Kotov
11 years ago

Discussing pricing with the contractor and trying to understand what electrical prep work needs to be done and how to install them.

1. Cabinets are up to ceiling
2. I need 6 plug molds for the whole kitchen ( 13x10) and 1 for island. What is the smallest size you can get? Prep work - before backsplash after cabinets installed or when?
3. For under cabinets LEDs ( 6 bars or stripes ) - what the electrician needs to do to prep? Where is the electricity coming from? Do I need a box/cables in the actual cabinets?

I need to educate myself - experts please help!!

Comments (9)

• btharmy
    11 years ago

Let the electrician figure it out and give you a price. That is his responsibility. If you don't like his price, get 2 or 3 more and compare. That is your responsibility.

• emcloud Fish
    11 years ago

I'm by no means an expert, but I think for the undercabinet lights, you want the electrical cable poking out from the drywall before the cabinets are installed, toward the bottom of where the cabinets will go, but still within the footprint of the cabinet (above the backsplash).

Then, drill 1/2" holes in the back of the cabinet and the bottom, and feed the cable from the wall through the back as you hang the cabinets. Once the cabinets are hung, install an outlet inside the cabinet, and feed the cable for the lights through the bottom hole and plug into the receptacle (assuming your lights are not intended to be hardwired).

As to cost, I think people would need more info to get an idea.

Do you trust your contractor? As btharmy said, let them figure it out and give you a cost. Unless we're missing some key info, this should be a pretty easy task.

• Denitza Kotov
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you both!

• SparklingWater
    11 years ago

Nice explanation emcloud.