Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kdineen_gw

Wire and Panel for Workshop

kdineen
10 years ago

I need some help. I have a workshop that needs to get power re-connected. Our septic repair guys accidentally tore out the electric line and now we need to fix it. I am new to this and have never posted before so I apologize if I use the wrong lingo.

The 1" conduit is still in place and can probably be repaired. I have an electrician who said I can put new wires back through it (3 wires #6 and 1 wire #10 THHN). However, this looks like an opportunity to upgrade to me. But to what is the question.

The shop is 800 sq' and I will primarily be using it as a 1-person shop, with woodworking, ceramics, whatever. I figure I need 2 15-amp circuits for lights, and 1 20-amp for outlets, and then I thought I would put each stationary machine on its own 20-amp (table saw, router, kiln, etc.) though I think those will just be used 1 or 2 at a time. So do just add that up? It looks like I need 70 amps (before voltage drop). Oh, and the shop is 138' away from the house, so I know there will be some voltage drop.

So what if I put in a 100-amp subpanel and run #4 THHN back through the 1" conduit (3 wires) and a #10 for ground? Does that sound right? Will that still fit in my conduit?

Any suggestions would be helpful.
Thanks, Kristi

Comments (29)

• Ron Natalie
    10 years ago

Unless your kiln is tiny, it's going to need more than a 20 A circuit. If it's running at the same time you have other stuff going you may have shorted yourself.

You can not run THHN underground. It's not approved for wet areas (underground is always wet). Fortunately, most THHN these days is also rated THWN which is wet rated.

THWN #4 copper has an ampacity of 85 amps. The sub panel rating is largely immaterial, make sure you use an appropriate sized breaker on the feed. If 70 Amps is correct, your sizing for the voltage drop looks good.