Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
superrecord

25 amp 2pole breaker for water heater?

superrecord
12 years ago

Hello gardenweb, this is my first time posting on here so please bare with me.

I have an electric water heater that I need to connect.

The heater is 4500 watts 240 single phase

It requires an 84 foot from the sub panel.

The math I used looks like this.

4500w/240v = 18.7A

18.75A X 1.25(to maintain 80% of breaker capacity)= 23.4375Amp breaker minimum

Now according to the calculator on the below linked website I can use 10 awg copper and still be under 5% voltage drop.

Unfortunately nobody here in san francisco has a 2 pole 25A circuit breaker. If I bump up the breaker to 30A then I have to also bump up to an 8awg and that will cost me $90 which I don't really want to spend (and I don't want to snake 8-3mc through a wall for 84 feet). Is there a reason that nobody has 25A 2 pole breakers? I can find them online. I know they are made. I can't find any reasons as to why they are not existent. Are they illegal and I don't know it? Is there a reason for me not to use a 25A 2 pole breaker? This is in a commercial building which I don't believe makes a difference in this question.

Thanks for any advice on here..

(link to Voltage drop calculator that I used)

http://www.electrician2.com/calculators/vd_calculatoradv.htm

Comments (11)

• bus_driver
    12 years ago

The 30 amp is OK. The overcurrent device protects the conductors.

• Ron Natalie
    12 years ago

To amplify what Bus Driver is saying, the ampacity of the conductors is not affected by voltage drop issues. The wire is still capable of carrying the current even if the voltage drops to an unacceptable level by the time it reaches the load.

• brickeyee
    12 years ago

#10 is fine for a 30 amp breaker.

A 240 V 30 amp circuit using #10 wire is pretty 'standard' for residential water heaters.

Only one heating element is on at a time.

• superrecord
    Original Author
    12 years ago