Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jks55

main breaker box near bed. little one on the way

jks55
12 years ago

Hi guys

Ive come here often to read the posts, but this is my first time posting. Hope someone can help...

We live in a house where the main breaker and electrical service to the house are on our master bedroom wall. To make matters worse, its right by our headboard of our bed.

We just found out that we have a little one on the way. So my dad instincts are kicking in.

We have read on some websites that EMF can cause health problems and those same websites offer meters for sale/rent for us to check the strength of the fields.

I was hoping to hear from some folks here, who dont have a financial gain if they scare us, can tell us whether we have a valid concerns to move the bed or if needed, move the meter to the other side of the house (probably wouldnt be cheap, but its my family here, so if thats whats needed, then so be it).

Is there any valid health concern here?? Are the meters worth renting? Are their results worth much?

thanks guys!

Comments (28)

• petey_racer
    12 years ago

IMO in a regular home this is NOT AT ALL an issue.
    Issues like this are raised by folks who wear tin foil hats and for some reason HAVE to have a problem with, or worry about, SOMETHING.

Unfortunately you've been coerced into reading the propaganda already, which means you already have that mindset. Hopefully you are not too far go to be recuperated back into a normal person. :)

• ionized_gw
    12 years ago

I have not kept up on the field. Here is a good place to start:

http://www.niehs.nih.gov/health/topics/agents/emf/

• electricalkid
    12 years ago

As long as you have the required 30"X36" clearance around the panel, you're fine.

• petey_racer
    12 years ago

Here is a quote from the article. All the tin foil hat people needed to do was sow the seed to get people to think like them: