Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mike_kaiser_gw

Deep Cycle Battery

mike_kaiser_gw
12 years ago

This isn't "electrical wiring" but you guys are pretty knowledgeable so I thought I might ask this here.

Four months back I replaced a battery back-up sump pump battery for a friend. I had told her to periodically check the water level but for whatever reason she didn't get around to it. Yesterday we added a little better than 3 quarts of distilled water to the battery (it's a size 27). That seems like a quite a bit of water. This is an ordinary deep-cycle type battery.

Any thoughts?

Thank!

Comments (14)

• bus_driver
    12 years ago

I have no experience with deep-cycle batteries. But with conventional batteries that permit the user to add water, it is good to slow-charge immediately after adding water to be sure the battery is fully charged. A partially discharged battery will sulphate and the ampere-hour capacity is reduced.

• lbpod
    12 years ago

Deep cycle batts. can be discharged quite
    a bit and not be harmed, unlike typical
    motor vehicle batts. However, the loss
    of that much water may have permanently
    damaged the battery. I would guess it
    was overcharged, or charged at too high
    a rate. Now that you have the electrolite
    level back up, hook up a charger and
    check the charging rate. A battery for
    this application should be on a trickle
    charger, which should keep it fully charged
    without over charging. It is best to charge
    it at 10% of the amphour capacity of the batt.
    Good luck.

• ionized_gw
    12 years ago

People like that are better off with an AGM battery. She will have this one ruined in no time if not ruined already.