Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bsaimo

murphy pullout fuse block contains fuses of different amperages

bsaimo
10 years ago

Hello and thanks in advance...

Let me start out by saying that I am no electrician. I am handy but will not be making adjustments to my fuse/ breaker panel without having a professional out to the house. That said, I'd love some opinions on my situation.

My house has an older fuse panel with two pullout fuse blocks. In 8 years I have never had a problem with these fuses burning out, but lately we have been encountering a situation where all of the lights and appliances running through one of the blocks will get partial power. (diagnosed by dim lighting and slowly running electric motors on plugged appliances) The fix seems to be replacing one of the cartridge fuses inside one of the blocks. On pulling those things out though, I discovered that one of the blocks contains two non-40 amp fuses and the other contains a non-40 and a non-60. shouldn't both of the fuses in the block be the same? If so, how can I determine which fuse is correct?

Brandon

Comments (14)

• bus_driver
    10 years ago

They do not necessarily have to be the same. There may or may not be a legitimate reason for the difference. But my guess is that the more likely explanation is that one of the 40 amp fuses failed and a 60 was substituted. The 60 would be more easily found in most retail stores.You need a pro to determine the proper size.
    The NON means that the fuse is a quick-blow non-replaceable element. Fine for ranges and water heaters. NON is a poor choice for motor loads such as air conditioners and heat pumps. FRN is the better choice for heavy starting loads.
    Fuses are by no means inferior protection, but they are more subject to tampering and use of wrong size.
    Your heading says "murphy". Did you mean to say that the panel is a Murray?

This post was edited by bus_driver on Sun, Jan 19, 14 at 22:28

• bsaimo
    Original Author
    10 years ago