Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ktaroo939

Pesky roomate light problem

ktaroo939
15 years ago

Hey, My name is Catherine and I have a lighting problem. I live in an apartment complex and have 3 roommates. Because I am a college student I am frequently in and out of the apartment at all hours, including when its dark. because of this, I have asked my roommates to leave our outside light on, However, one of my roommates stubbornly refuses and enjoys turning the light off when I am gone. Now, though I would love to just get rid of the roommate, I cannot, which is what leads me to my question,

Is there a way to make it so a light cannot be turned off by the switch? So that no matter if the switch is up or down the light stays on?

Now, I guess I should include the fact that I have never done any type of electrical work or wiring. However, I'm not dumb or electrically incompetent (at least not as far as i know anyway hehe) so as long as the job isnt too complex I'm certain I can manage alright.

Can anyone please help a poor college girl out?

Comments (19)

• greg_h
    15 years ago

It's illegal to modify the electrical work in a building you don't own if you aren't an electrician.

Could you just put tape over the switch, or is the roomate maliciously turning it off and not just accidentally turning it off?

• ktaroo939
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I tried taping it, with clear tape, black tape, and duct tape, he left me a note daring me to try to find a tape he couldn't cut =(

• jmvd20
    15 years ago

Try talking to the complex's maintenace worker, there are several ways to do what you want and a few of them may only take minutes to complete.