Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeterway

X10 technology/smart house

jeterway
14 years ago

When we built our house 10 years ago, x10 was pretty popular for home automation. So we automated lots of functions in our house from lighting to temp control. Well, it is 10 years later and things are starting to happen. Well they actually started a few years ago but it was just one or two things so it wasn't a real issue. But now, lights are turning off and on, fans are turning on, its getting to the point where I can't ignore it any more. I have some technical expertise but I am not an electrician. Do you know of anyone dealing with this technology in the south Jersey area or Philadelphia area? Should/Can I switch to a newer and more reliable technology? What is that newer/more reliable technology? I haven't had the chance to do any research yet.

Comments (7)

• groundrod
    14 years ago

First try changing the house code. You may have neighbors that are now using it too and everyone is using A1 as their code.

• jeterway
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks groundrod. I already tried that. I changed one of the switches thinking it may have been a bad switch and at the same time changed the code on that switch. That afternoon, the fan came on again just like the day before. This is why this nonsense drives me crazy.

• saltcedar
    14 years ago

Do you have noise filters on all your flat screen TV's and other electronics?
    Compact fluorescents also cause many problems.
    Neither of these were around when X10 was developed.
    XPPF will cure 99% of the problem in most cases. Switching to
    non-flourescent lighting may be necessary if you can't find a brand
    that's compatible with your installation.

Here is a link that might be useful: XPPF

• fixizin
    14 years ago

While fun for hobbyists, X10 is considered too undependable to control any home security/monitoring system. Just a thought.

• jeterway
    Original Author
    14 years ago