SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
brokenappletree

Not really wine

BrokenAppleTree
18 years ago

Hi All,

I just wanted to see how many people are into producing Hard Cider (hereafter referred to as Cider)? I know it doesn't really fit the title of this group, but I figured I'd feel it out and see what everyone has to say. After all it is home fermented from fresh fruit.

I produce Cider from my own apples and those of my neighbors. This is my first year to produce more than two gallons and I've had a good time figuring out how to do it. Lots of experiments, I went through about 20 gallons of fresh cider to get 6 gallons of good hard cider (the rest was bad, very sour, but I've learned a good deal). My best results have come from using the native yeast on the apples.

Best Regards,

Brian

Comments (18)

• wolfe15136
    18 years ago

This is something I've always wanted to try.

• biblion
    18 years ago

Hi Brian
    I think you found the right place to post about cider, which is really just apple wine anyway.
    I have not grown any apple trees yet, though I hope to plant some trees on dwarf rootstock in the future.
    I would like to hear about which apples you grow.
    I tried making my first hard cider this year from non-pasturized cider obtained from local orchards. I fermented 8 gallons in two batches.
    My first batch was made using champage yeast which I introduced to the must after sterilizing with potassium sorbate (I"m approaching this from a home wine-making persepective cause that's what I know a little about). It came out O.K. but, as was expected, very dry. I bottled it, adding half a nutmeg, two cinnamon sticks, and some fresh ginger root to each bottle. After a couple of weeks, it was actually not bad, at least to my admittedly not very sophisticated palate.

I'm puzzled about your having to use 20 gallons to get six.