Return to the Wine Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What Not to Do

Posted by ginnylove (My Page) on
Sun, Nov 9, 08 at 17:38

I am very new to making wine at home. I have seen a lot of info on what to do. Is there a resource of what not to do, so I can avoid some common pitfalls?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What Not to Do

I don't think I've ever seen a list of what not to do for making wines. Past the basics, I think a lot depends on someone's style and willingness to dump a few batches in search of the perfect taste so what would be outrageous for one person is standard issue for others. I guess for starters some what not to do's would be:

- Don't keep a dirty brewing area. You can easily lose a batch to infection if all things that come in contact with your wine aren't clean. Cleaners can run from b-brite to bleach but they're very important to success
- Don't use bread yeast. If you're making wine, go with a wine yeast, beer yeast for a beer or a combination for things like braggots. It really does affect the taste.
- Don't just throw fresh fruit into a fermenter and let it go. Unless you're actually trying this experiment to see if you get lucky, most fresh fruit has wild yeasts on them that will impact your final product. Best to sterilize the fruit before fermentation.
- Don't just cover your batch with some cotton or cheesecloth and wait until the bubbles stop. Use an airlock and a specific gravity meter to keep the wine free from bugs and bacteria and to know when your wine is really stopped fermenting
- Don't bottle wines that are still fermenting in regular bottles. You'll make bombs (though usually the corks pop first ... overcarbonation in beer blows the bottoms and sides out of the bottle)
- Don't worry when the wine you made 6 weeks ago is nice and clear but tastes like metallic bread. Give the wine some time to get balanced ... if you look at the wines they sell in the stores almost all of them are at least a year old.