Return to the Wine Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Popped Corks

Posted by amprice (My Page) on
Sat, Oct 18, 08 at 8:33

This is my first year making our own wine. I followed the recipe of 1 qt fruit (we used our grapes), 1pkg yeast, 2cups sugar, 1 gallon water. Mashed the grapes, strained for the juice and bottled in a glass jar for 3 weeks. Strained again, bottled and corked it. Went downstairs last night to put our apples into cold storage only to discover that 4 of the bottles had blown their corks and I had "wine" all over the shelf. No fancy eq. just plain old stuff. What would have caused this? They were all from the second batch which the only difference was the grapes were riper off the vine. I am getting ready to do a third batch and the only difference this time is I am using the wine yeast instead of regular yeast. Have I wasted all my time?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Popped Corks

You added 2 cups of sugar to a quart of grapes?

It was still fermenting in the bottles is why the corks popped. How did you know fermentation was finished when you bottled? Not sure why you added so much sugar and water instead of just using the grape juice. Plus if you used riper grapes, they had more sugar than the first batch anyhow. But using so much sugar makes it hard to predict.

o

so what should i do with the ones that haven't popped? are they no good and it is just a matter of time before they blow too? with this being the first year we had grapes we were just trying to find things to do with them so any help would be greatly appreciated.

o

I'm not an expert and I don't know the answer to your question as to whether your wine is still usable. But, I let mine sit in the carboy for up to 6 months to ensure it will not begin fermenting again and to allow the wine to clarify.

Good luck on getting answers to your questions.

~Tj~

o