SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
uncleskeeter

aquired taste for wine?

uncleskeeter
16 years ago

hi, i'm new to wine drinking/tasting and trying to learn as much as possible. is drinking wine an aquired taste or do you aquire a taste for wine? there are so many brands out there to buy and was wondering also,say if i am into merlot, grigio or any other flavors for instance....do they all have the same taste from different wineries or are they different in taste? tasting(flavor) cold versus room temp? i went to a local tasting event the other day and i think i lost the server with some questions.just trying to learn,thank you very much....

Comments (13)

• francis_eric
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Just stopping in to see, haven't been here for quite a While. the link is at the bottom of the page, but I copy/pasted the artical, this is a vinting magazine.
    about him maybe he had a long, day ,
    thought you were trying to get a buzz they deal with that I would think.
    sorry I didn't help with more questions
    This artical helped me alot, I can tell you this though, about how things can change the wine lets start with climate high temps can make a higher Brix(Percentage of sugar) So that is more alcohol, alcohol dumbs the sensation, which can reduce flavors, Then there is over bad vinyard management, or just bad weather years that are rain less can yeild some great grapes,
    See fructose is a sugar, so is glucose when fructose which is in honey is in the grape from dry years, IT gets the wine tasting good.
    Then what about How they are grown if A vine has 12lbs. of grapes(instead of 50lb. or some even 100lbs.) on a vine from what I understand is The grapes are more potent more glycerine, which adds body(Like whole milk, or skin)they thin out extra grape flowers, cut them off so it produces less yeild, but some cheap wines(NOT ALL)jug wine is thin they also thin out the leaves covering the fruit more sun exposure.