Return to the Wine Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
how to make wine

Posted by svanessa (My Page) on
Sat, Sep 15, 07 at 10:33

Hi all,

I'm new here but a reg on the fig forum. I've just started a batch of fig wine. This is my first attempt at making wine and I have a couple questions.

1) The wine kit I bought came with Camden tablets, no other sterilization chemicals. Can I use this to sterialize all my other equipment? What is the best way? Do I dissolve one or two (?) tablets in hot water in a large pot then stick in the tubing, siphon, and all other items that will come into contact with the must? Should I buy another chemical to sterilize? Do you wear rubber gloves when handling the sterialized equipment?

2) This is day 2 of the fermentation process. In 3-4 days I'll be ready to rack (?) in into the secondary fermentation carboy. How do you get the solution to start moving from the primary to the secondary unit? Do you suck on one end of the tubing to get a flow? That's not sanitary but how else do you do it?

Thanks,

Sue in San Diego

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: how to make wine

Svanessa, I don't wear rubber gloves, I wash my hands first.making sure all the soap is off...disolve the camden tablets with warm water to sterlize equipment Maybe a couple per gallon water?.And I do use a siphion hose (tube) to rack my wine. Yes Suck to get started. It is as sanitary as you gonna do it.

o

The Camden tablets are to sanitize your equipment and to kill unwanted yeast strains that can ruin your wine. They allow you to introduce a known strain of yeast to the must, as opposed to all of the wild yeast that are on your fruit and air born. Notice I used the word sanitize as opposed to sterilize. There are no harmful pathogens in properly fermented wine because the 5-15% alcohol will kill them.