Return to the Wine Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Beginner here - fermenter question.

Posted by bejay9_10 (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 1, 10 at 11:08

I recently purchased a wine making kit "on-line" and am getting aquainted OK. My first attempt is with my own backyard Santa Rosa plums - which produced a bumper crop this year.

I followed directions with the kit - and also several other "helpful hints" places, but a bit confused about the fermentation stage - when to rack off - and/or not to.

I put mashed plums in strainer bag in primary fermenter - added all of the ingredients on schedule, stirred contents daily - and recipe calls for removal of pulp on 4th day and racking on 5th.

However, this morning - the primary fermenter is bubbling like mad - and I'm not sure if I did something wrong or should I rack, wait for bubbling to stop - or ??

Help.

Bejay

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Beginner here - fermenter question.

bejay, did the recipe have and hydometer reading anywhere? if not it would help to post the recipe......

o

The kit didn't come with a hydrometer - but today ordered one. However, the recipe with the kit just uses the concentrate that one can order - but as beginners will do (fools rush in - ya know), I decided to use my own fruit.

Admit that I know nothing about the hydrometer use yet - but will do more reading when it arrives.

It says it "measures density of liquids" in books I've read.

Do know a bit about canning and preserving acid-type foods as well - but wine making is new to me, and all of the information I can glean seems to confuse, especially about fermentation times.

As of now, the little air lock is bubbling on top of the primary fermenter. One "helpful hint" says to wait to rack off when bubbling stops ??? Soooo what do I know - not much, I'm afraid. (no - not really afraid - what do I care if the "thing" explodes and puts mash all over my pantry ceiling. Thanks.

Bejay

o