SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
trianglejohn

any vinegar makers out there?

trianglejohn
17 years ago

I'm involved in a project trying to make gourmet vinegar from local scuppernong and muscadine wine. The idea being that wherever there is wine being made there is surplus wine available and that fancy vinegar sells for more than wine, so why not turn trash into treasure. Our plan is to see if you can make vinegar from these wines, and does it taste any good??

So now I have a spare room devoted to vinegar making and have small batches of many different flavors of vinegar (apple cider, red wine, white wine, scuppernong). It took awhile to get all of these guys rolling.

Since I've never done this before and most of my questions baffle all the home brewers/winemakers I come in contact with - I'm just throwing this out to cyberland wondering if anyone knows anyone that makes vinegar. I have a million questions to asks.

Comments (16)

• bud_wi
    17 years ago

I've made my own vinegar. What are your questions?

I am not an expert.

Basically, first you must obtain a *mother*. The rest just takes care of itself.

• trianglejohn
    Original Author
    17 years ago

I used apple cider vinegar mother and it adapted to all four fluids - it just took twice as long in the scuppernong wine.

I haven't tasted any of them though I've been told that I should to determine the level of acidity. It looks so slimy it will be hard for me to taste it, though I do enjoy the flavor of vinegar.

I have purchased a test kit used to test acid levels in wine and plan on testing the vinegars.

I was wondering if there is magic point when the acidity peaks and I have to dilute it to an acceptable level for salad dressing. Does the process slow down or crash if I miss this magic moment? At this point everything smells vinegar-ey (more like stomach acid-ey!).