Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catalyst_cpr

Eagle Windows -- Defective Design

catalyst-cpr
15 years ago

I am a construction consultant and have been working for several years now dealing with problems with Eagle Windows and believe that there is an inherent design flaw in how they construct their windows. The problem manifests itself particularly with their "Auxiliary Units", that is, their fixed pane windows.

The problem is that they are designed with the presumption that none of the sealants, joints or other mechanical connections in the frame or interfaces between the glass, wood and metal will ever fail. But if they do fail, problems of moisture intrusion into the structures behind the windows and the wood members of the windows themselves can deteriorate for a long time, undetected. Once this intrusion is finally detected though drywall damage, mold, or other problems, usually significant internal deterioration has already taken place.

Most windows I've encountered over the 40+ years in the construction field are designed to have secondary or tertiary mechanisms to allow any water that gets past the first line of defense to escape. Channels and weep holes are typical of these devices. Many windows are stopped in from the outside and have a vertical barrier to wind driven moisture at the interior side of the glass in addition to the interior sealant.