Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gayl

Fiberglass, vinyl; vinyl, fiberglass...what to choose?

gayl
13 years ago

We are getting a lot of conflicting information. We are building a high-end home and most likely will have white windows both inside and out, and want the least maintenance possible. We live in the Pacific Northwest, so have some weather, but not as drastic as some areas of the country. Recommendations?

Comments (9)

• joshwash
    13 years ago

I'm a professional window cleaner and run into both styles almost every day. I would pick fiberglass if it were my home, but that's not to say it that much better. Any modern window will get dirty and will eventually(after several years) Need to be replaced/renovated. The best thing you can do for yourself and your home is choose a very established window company( Pella, accent, many many more) that will be in business long enough to honor their lifetime guarantee. Also, Have a professional clean them ATLEAST once a year.

Here is a link that might be useful: Denver Window and Gutter Cleaning

• gayl
    Original Author
    13 years ago

So, WHY would you choose fiberglass?

• skydawggy
    13 years ago

The biggest advantage fiberglass has over vinyl is it is paintable and is less prone to expansion and contraction. Many people looking for wood windows end up with fiberglass due to it's similar pricing but lower maintenence. The biggest drawback with fiberglass is it tends to have a higher air infiltration rate than vinyl and it is much more expensive.