Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
embedded_tim

Water-tight without the J-Channel

embedded_tim
12 years ago

Hi Guys-

Another question for all you pro's...

I've done a fair amount of googling on this one... any recommendations on how to apply exterior trim to new construction casement windows that avoids the unsightliness of running vinyl J-channel all around the window?

I'm not a brake pro, so bending metal isn't that great of an option for me (never understood how mitering alum around a window made it leak-resistant). I have talked to an Azek rep and he offered me the rabbeted 1by trim board. It certainly looks beautiful, but its not a full j-channel (nothing returning underneath the siding). Can you put normal vinyl j-channel pieces underneath the rabbet to create a leak-resistant barrier? If not, what other methods can be used to: 1. make the window look nice 2. not leak like a sieve.

Finally, anyone have any recommendations outside of exposed j-channel or rabbeted board? I'm always looking for better ideas...

Thanks in advance!!

Comments (11)

• PRO
    Windows on Washington Ltd
    12 years ago

There are windows that have the option of a nailing flange and you can get a clip in J-Channel or sill expander that can be made to act as a J-channel.

If you run a flat trim, you should put a drip edge above the window and above the trim.

You will need some sort of j-channel to cover the cut edges on the siding regardless.

The integrated look is a bit better.

• brickeyee
    12 years ago

No siding system is intended to be the final drainage plane on a house.

The siding is there to protect the actual drainage plane from damage mechanically and from the sun.

Tar paper used to be the drainage plane of choice, but there are plenty of newer materials available.

Though sometimes I have my doubts what the new materials will look like in 60-70-80 years.

• embedded_tim
    Original Author
    12 years ago