Return to the Windows Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Water-tight without the J-Channel

Posted by embedded_tim (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 23, 11 at 11:58

Hi Guys-

Another question for all you pro's...

I've done a fair amount of googling on this one... any recommendations on how to apply exterior trim to new construction casement windows that avoids the unsightliness of running vinyl J-channel all around the window?

I'm not a brake pro, so bending metal isn't that great of an option for me (never understood how mitering alum around a window made it leak-resistant). I have talked to an Azek rep and he offered me the rabbeted 1by trim board. It certainly looks beautiful, but its not a full j-channel (nothing returning underneath the siding). Can you put normal vinyl j-channel pieces underneath the rabbet to create a leak-resistant barrier? If not, what other methods can be used to: 1. make the window look nice 2. not leak like a sieve.

Finally, anyone have any recommendations outside of exposed j-channel or rabbeted board? I'm always looking for better ideas...

Thanks in advance!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Water-tight without the J-Channel

Vinyl siding as a system is not as water resistant as a wood siding system, as gaps must be left for expansion/contraction. Traditional J is no true waterproof joint. That's why the "rain screen" concept has been adapted for synthetic siding systems.

The miter is just cut on the header casing piece, the verticals are cut square at full length and run up under the cap; there's your waterproof "miter" joint.
Casey

o

There are windows that have the option of a nailing flange and you can get a clip in J-Channel or sill expander that can be made to act as a J-channel.

If you run a flat trim, you should put a drip edge above the window and above the trim.

You will need some sort of j-channel to cover the cut edges on the siding regardless.

The integrated look is a bit better.

o