Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gwenrick

Harvey Window reviews

gwenrick
10 years ago

Had a contractor show me harvey windows; the Harvey Classic.
Im no expert but the window looked cheap and very flimsy.
The ufactor was only a .30 . Another concern was the spacer, harvey uses a
Tin plated spacer and not the new technology which is non metal.
I have seen quite a few brands and was educated thoroughly which is why i now know about spacer's, ufactor, and other important features.
I must of seen 6 window brands. The worst was silverline, mi windows, pella, and the harvey. The best were soft lite, okna, and the quantum 2 window.
I am about to make a decision and want to make sure my suspicions regarding Harvey are correct.

Comments (26)

• mmarse1
    10 years ago

I know the Harvey Classic product well. I do agree, its cheap looking and not made very well. The walls are very thin compromising any structural integrity and their energy efficiency numbers are very poor.
    They also have what they call their high end window called tribute but that is mid grade at best and also has thin walls and poorly designed spacer system( tin plated).
    Lots of guys around here use harvey because they are cheap but thats not in the best interest of their customers. They will say how they installed alot of them with no complaints bla bla bla...once they are installed and a customer paid a cheap price, who is really going to complain in a few years...
    Dont get me wrong, harvey is not horrible, its basically a contractor window but still better than silverline or MI windows. Remember, harvey is a building products company who make all kinds of building material which means they DONT have a focus on windows.
    The quantum 2 is very solid as is are the Okna, Affinity Ultra Series,and Soft Lite. sunrise vanguard or restorations is another solid choice. Stay away from the low end stuff, you will be doung your project twice.