Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kiwigem_gw

Installation concern

Kiwigem
9 years ago

Hi, all. I went by our build to check on things today and I'm a little concerned about the window installation. Would you mind looking at these photos and commenting? I'm a bit concerned about the lack of a sill pan and the way they are taped. I'm no expert though...

This post was edited by Kiwigem on Sun, Sep 21, 14 at 21:14

Comments (15)

• Kiwigem
    Original Author
    9 years ago

interior

• PRO
    Windows on Washington Ltd
    9 years ago

Should any water ever enter that wall or get behind the WRB (Tyvek), it would be trapped in the wall. The sill should have been flashed and the window then set inside that flashing or pan.

Hopefully the window is supported at multiple locations.

• PRO
    East Bay 10
    9 years ago

You should be able to see the sill nailing flange but in your case, it was flashed over and as wow pointed out, water will be trapped. Window(s) should be removed and re-installed correctly. This does not follow Integrity's installation instructions.

• pprioroh
    9 years ago

Totally wrong installation. Water WILL eventually get behind that and into your wall.

I don't understand why installers can't get simple concepts like water planes.

MAKE them fix it.

• Kiwigem
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you all. I needed to make sure I was right before I questioned someone who has been building ( the same way it seems) for a long time.

• HomeSealed_WI
    9 years ago

This was pretty much how everyone did it years ago, wrap the paper into the opening on all 4 sides, then install the window and tape it. That said, it is not correct. Not sure that I have ever seen a rough carpentry crew install sill pans unless it was negotiated ahead of time, but certainly the lapping of the building paper, nail fin, etc should be addressed and done properly.

• PRO
    9 years ago

+1