Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
weedyacres

Is the seal broken on these windows?

weedyacres
10 years ago

Home inspector says seal bad on this double casement window. No sign of any condensation or fogginess, so the only thing we can figure is he saw some cracks in the epoxy or whatever this is and made that conclusion. I'm not a window expert. Is this really indicative of a bad seal needing a replacement? These are Anderson windows originally installed in 2003 per the owner before us.

In case you're disoriented, this is the view standing in the room looking down at the sill. It's a dormer window, so you're seeing the roof in the top part of the photo. The small vertical lines are the cracks.

Comments (14)

• PRO
    Windows on Washington Ltd
    10 years ago

Tough to say from that picture.

If you can't wipe it off, its a busted IGU seal or failed Low-e.

Either require replacement.

• oberon476
    10 years ago

Reallly tough to tell from the picture...

Are the cracks in the window sash/frame or are they between the lites?

If the cracks aren't between the lites, and you aren't seeing any cloudiness or condensation inside the IG unit, then I am wondering what the inspector was thinking when he said they needed replacement because of seal failure.

If those cracks are in the spacer between the lites then there is a different story.

If the cracks are in the sash or frame, then I would ask him to see what he says.

This post was edited by oberon on Thu, Aug 1, 13 at 18:49

• PRO
    10 years ago

Spacer does appear to be failing in this case. UV degradation in all likelihood.

The will will require a new IGU if applicable or a new window.

• millworkman
    10 years ago

That is what my initial thoughts were as well, wow. I asked for possibly better pictures as well.

• weedyacres
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here's another shot with a bit more perspective.

The cracks are in the spacer between the lites.