Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goddi_gw

HMI vs Precision patio doors?

goddi
17 years ago

I am planning on replacing my patio french style doors and the front entry door. I was planning on going with Precision Entry doors but then one installer suggested HMI doors. They won't have a sample door for a week or so so I have not seen the HMI door yet.

I would like to have anyone's opinion on these two manufacturers.

Thanks... Gary

Comments (15)

• lakedog
    17 years ago

As a contractor, I've purchased doors from Precision for over 25 years. Super people, great product, and fair prices for all you get. Not familiar with the other name you mention.

Good Luck!

• jen73452
    16 years ago

As someone who worked in the door industry with dealers, I've seen that HMI doors tend to rust and they have paint and other quality problems. Then, they don't take them back or replace them.

Precision doors has always been a class-act in every way.

That was two years ago, but I would still go with Precision.

But it's just my opinion.

• Michael
    16 years ago

There is no comparison. Precision Entry, soon to be Pro-Via Door, has always delivered the highest quality product in the door industry.

Michael

• tonya1
    15 years ago

I love my door by HMI. I did the research and the door is a better gauge of steel (thicker) than Provia's. The HMI doors also had better security features. I have serious curb appeal and people have been knocking on my door asking where I got my door. I haven't had any rust or paint problems . My friend has a HMI door and she noticed a scratch after it was installed. HMI came right out and gave her a repalcement door while they fixed hers. My HMI door is Energy Star and NFRC certified. I think Provia is a larger company but in my case HMI was great. Just do the research for yourself. I am not a big name brand person- I go for quality! Good Luck on your search.

• skydawggy
    15 years ago