Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nymike77

Confused about window purchase

nymike77
15 years ago

I admit...I'm a novice on this.

We are in a house originally built in 1988. Our windows are originals - Wood Andersons manufactured in 11/1987 that do not tilt out. I guess normal wear, weather changes, time, and house settlement has created some gaps and some of the windows are very drafty. Our gas bills in the winter are horrendous and it's cold in some rooms. The windows are filthy because some are inaccessible by ladder from the outside.

We got estimates on Marvin Ultrex windows. They seem like great windows - durable, efficient, etc. But it requires a full replacement of frame, moldings, etc. That makes the downstairs (18 windows) cost $15,500. I asked about the Anderson Tilt Wash (400 series). The contractor said he can use an "Anderson conversion kit." The price was a lot lower (just under $10,000). But I wonder, if whole housing of the window structure isn't for the window specifically, am I compromising the windown performance long term? The Andersons seem a bit more inconvenient and the grills only came on the outside (my wife and I hate that - we have that on the current windows).

We haven't considered vinyl. Looking at Consumer reports, the wood or fibrex rated much higher. Our main concerns are cutting the heating bill (and AC in summer), and the ability to easily wash the windows without messing anything up. Another concern is that the full replacement meant taking down all of our blinds (and the company wouldn't put them back up). It might sound lazy on my part, but they were expensive (best blinds on the market) and I don't want to mess them up...I'm not Mr. Carpenter.

I appreciate any honest input that anyone might have with their experiences!

Thanks.

Comments (23)

• PRO
    Windows on Washington Ltd
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago