Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phoggie_gw

Casement or Double Hung Windows?

phoggie
15 years ago

I would like your opinion on casement vs double hung windows. Which ones seal up the best when closed? I hate drafts~~so want to avoid them when designing our new home.

Comments (11)

• izzie
    15 years ago

I am not a window expert just had to make window decisions. I replaced windows last fall and would have loved to have put in double hung, I have sliders, (I would have had to install 2 double hungs in the space where 1 slider was) the casements are the ones with the crank out right? I did put one casement over the kitchen window so it could be opened easier, it has two sections that crank out. I know the "crank out" are generally more expensive, more complicated window. I would think the double hung may be a bit more energy efficient. The casements you get a more unobstructive view. Decisions, decisions.

Another reason I wanted double hung is being able to crack open the top and bottom sections a bit for ventilation, even when raining. Be sure to get full screens if you want to do that. You could probably do that with casements too. I did get 2 double hungs on the side sections on my new bay window (could have gone with casements)

• wws944
    15 years ago

It really depends on the style of your home. To me, casements seem more 'modern', and double hung more 'classic'.

• calbay03
    15 years ago

We have Casement and Double-Hung. I am no expert. The following is our experience and research info.