Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
restorephoto

Comparison of do-it-yourself replacement windows?

restorephoto
10 years ago

I've been reviewing these threads off and on for three years. I've been trying to keep these 1939 windows painted for 38 years here in Indianapolis. No more! It's finally time to act. I wouldn�t tackle this myself, but a friend is a retired contractor who's very, very good when it comes to homebuilding/remodeling. Given that I know him and I know the quality of the work he does, I'd like him to install replacement double-hung windows in our brick cape cod along with a 10-foot bow and 10-foot picture, both with casements on each end. However, the window brands that repeatedly get the highest praise in these forums (Sunrise, Soft-light, Gorell, OKNA, etc.) don't sell to homeowners or contractors as far as I can tell. Outside of this stellar group, which (if any) manufacturers who will sell to homeowners and contractors have products that compare in quality with those listed above?

I realize there are many factors involved, including the fact that the above-listed manufacturers offer a range of options/quality. We wouldn�t be looking at the top of the line. Rather, a step or two down�at least that would be the case if we were focusing on those manufacturers listed above. However, I'm hoping to get a general idea of your opinions regarding the overall quality of this other category of replacement window manufacturers� products if possible. At least as a place to start my research. If the cost is comparable to those manufacturers listed above, that's fine. I'm not necessarily looking for less expensive options.