Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roserx_gw

American Craftsman 9500 Impact by Andersen

roserx
17 years ago

I had it narrowed down between the Simonton StormBreaker Plus 300VL Dbl Hung vs the Alside Coastal Impact Dbl Hung. I happened to be @ Home Depot today and I saw the American Craftsman unit. They all look like pretty comparable vinyl windows to me, but I am no expert. I assume the AC's are less $ than the Simontons & Alside, but is there a downside to them?

Comments (8)

• guy_exterior_man
    17 years ago

Andersen windows just recently purchased Silverline, who makes these windows. I know for a fact that Andersen hasn't had them long enough to make any extravagant changes yet. The American Craftsman window has been long known as the bottom of the barrel in the industry. Personally I would recommend the Simonton window hands down from your choices. I highly recommend steering clear of the AC window for awhile. Good Luck!!!

• roserx
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Guy,

Thanks for the reply. I will heed your advice and steer clear of AC. I would prefer Simonton too, but Alside has more options available e.g., colors, grids, glass.

• uncledave_ct
    16 years ago

If the Simonton windows fall within your budget, they are the better choice. If at Home Depot, inquire about installation; the windows used by Home Services are Simonton, and are better than the American Craftsman units. If you can compare windows of similar specs side-by-side, you'll see what your money will buy. The AC windows appear 'rough around the edges,' while the Simontons have a more attractive 'finished' look and solid feel. I believe the AC also does not use virgin vinyl, which is noticeable; in comparison they have a more bluish cast to them. As with anything, the difference is apparent in the price.