Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roserx_gw

Miami-Dade vs DP-50 rating

roserx
17 years ago

I have just started looking @ replacement windows in NW FL. I rec'd a good price on DP-50 hurricane resistant windows, but they are not Miami-Dade Co approved. I know the DP-50 rating is for wind resistance up to 173mph, which is more than the rest of the house can tolerate, but what about impact resistance (flying debris)?

Is the DP (Design Pressure) rating only for wind & not impact, where the Miami-Dade Co rating is both?

Comments (35)

• roserx
    Original Author
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Oberon,

Wow, what a reply. You anwered all of my questions w/ great precision and completeness.

I don't think I have ever rec'd such a detailed response.

What do you do for a living?

• oberon476
    17 years ago

Good morning roserx and thank you.

I work in the window / glass industry in the areas of product development, testing, and certification.

• roserx
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Oberon,

You definitely have the insight & knowledge of an industry insider.

My dilemma is trying to decide which gives me the most bang for my buck, new windows vs shutters, as I am pursuing up to a $5K grant thru the My Safe Florida Home program? The program was recently enacted by the state legislature to help homeowners in defraying the costs associated with fortifying one's dwelling for h.cane protection. I am certain that all windows and shutter systems must meet Miami-Dade code requirements in order to qualify for reimbursement.

Once again, thanks for your interest and assistance!

RoseRx

• oberon476
    17 years ago

And you are more than welcome.

There are several advantages to using impact glass rather than shutters not having to travel for hours to protect your home if you happen to be away for some reason is certainly a huge one but beyond that: