Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vate_gw

Marvin Windows free installation

vate
12 years ago

I'm just getting started with an "outside remodel" to include new roof and windows, and maybe siding, some rock facing work, and other exterior improvements.

Really like the Marvin windows in person, and they seem to get very good reviews across the message board universe, with some comments on their high price. We're interested in their replacement line, Infinity.

The local dealer here in the Atlanta area, AVI (avimartin.com) is having a "free installation" promotion through the end of February (estimate by end of Feb, order by mid-March). Of course nothing is free, but I figure maybe this is their slow time and they are trying to drum up business. The problem is, how in the heck can I tell if I'm actually getting a better deal or not? Since every window order is custom, is there any way to tell if they are just adding $400 bucks per window to cover the "free" installation?

FWIW, I do not have standard size double-hungs (which might be easier to compare). I've got an older soft contemporary with large, aluminum sliding windows. Example: kitchen window is 3' high by 4' wide; dining room is 4' high by 6' wide. I will hopefully be replacing these with "combo" windows (casement on each side; fixed picture window in the middle).

Thanks.

Comments (12)

• millworkman
    12 years ago

get a price from a second Infinity dealer

• vate
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Millworkman said:

>>>get a price from a second Infinity dealerIn the metro Atlanta area, there is only one Marvin Infinity dealer (two locations, same company). My understanding is that the Infinity line cannot be installed by a non-Marvin contractor, and that Marvin protects territory for their dealers (meaning I can't go to the Augusta, GA Marvin dealer and get a quote.)

• GulfBreezeWindows
    12 years ago

Really not much you can do.

Have them out, see if you like their price.

• millworkman