Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
twindadd

Replacing Windows - Please Help!!

twindadd
11 years ago

We just purchased a new home in the Northeast (Long Island, NY) with original windows from 1958. We would like to replace all of the windows as part of a larger renovation but would prefer to not replace the siding on the house at this point.

A few questions...

1) Are we even candidates for replacement windows, or must we go with a new construction product based on the existing metal window frame (see pic)?

2) Our architect has initially spec'd Andersen 400 but I think I may prefer the Integrity by Marvin product based on my initial research. Do either of these present material differences from the other with regard to price, installation or quality? All of the windows will be double hung with SDL grids.

3) Any other project guidance you can provide? I'm a newbie to this and want to try and do it right this time so I don't have to do it again, but also not get "taken" by salespeople.

Thanks so much in advance.

Comments (5)

• PRO
    Windows on Washington Ltd
    11 years ago

What is the impetus behind the window replacement?

If you don't like the look, you are always a candidate.

If you are looking purely for energy efficiency improvements, the first place to look is at the attic and other items.

The Integrity is a solid choice and should have all the same available options as the 400. Cost depends on what people are charging up there but you will commonly see them referred to as similarly priced materials.

What else are you doing at the home?

If it is just window replacements, find a qualified contractor and keep reading. You will quickly learn everything that you need to know and focus on.

• millworkman
    11 years ago

What wow said, and where on L.I., I may be able to help guide you if your interested. I do not sell residential windows but may be able to guide with where to get certain products, you may email me if you wish

• twindadd