Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bibliomom

Marvin Ultimate Double Hung Magnum?

bibliomom
14 years ago

Aside from the overly-suggestive name, does anyone know anything about these windows? Our kitchen reno is providing us with a roughly 5 1/2' wide by 4' high opening for window(s)above the counter, and we're trying to decide what to put in.

We'd pretty much narrowed it down to two double hungs *or* a wide-ish double hung flanked by two narrow picture windows. And then I saw this oh-so-conveniently-sized 5 1/2' foot wide Magnum on the Marvin website and wondered how bizarre it would look and/or function to have one extremely wide window in the space. I honestly can't even imagine it.

I am a *complete* window noob and am just starting to research windows, but since this reno will eventually lead the way (stylistically) for replacing a whole herd of 6' wide windows, I'm trying to really do my homework. Needless to say, I have no experience with 5+ foot double hungs and would appreciate any help or advice you have to offer.

Thanks so much!

Comments (4)

• afsa
    14 years ago

I really see no need to go to a Magnum product. These are generally used in commercial type buildings when huge double hung's are required, ie over 60" wide and 7 or 8 feet tall. Your job does not sound like it needs Magnum DH units, just large standard units.

• bibliomom
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Ah - see, these are the kinds of things I don't know. I was really just intrigued by the 66" width as I hadn't seen anything that wide before and the idea of one instead of many seemed worth looking into.

• mcsbldr
    14 years ago