Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shsansone

loewen windows design flaw?

debra sansone
17 years ago

While looking on the remodeling forum there was an interesting dialogue pertaining to loewen windows. I am a little confused about the wide variation of comments from "great" windows to ones with "design flaws". Our windows are 4o, yes 40 years old and we have to replace them. We would like to do it right the first time because we can't afford to do it wrong!. Although the windows look beautiful from loewen I am leery because of several references of poor response to customer problems. Am also concerned that I have not seen any response to pnwarchitect's comments from windowsurfer and whitewolfe. i am a newbie so maybe I missed the comments in a different forum? This is a really big purchase and I don't want to mess it up. Any help greatly appreciated.

Comments (7)

• calbay03
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi rabbit12,

Your post got me interested because a friend just bought a house with Loewen windows. When we visited his place, the windows look quite nice. We installed Aluminum-clad stained Marvins 3 years ago so the beautiful Loewen stained wood caught our eyes. He does not have any large Casement, only standard smallish windows. They operate fine.

My suggestion would be to actually specify a "large" window and then go to a Loewen shop to ask for frame specifications. Then go to a close competitor like Marvin and ask for same. Then you can compare the two to see if Loewen has addressed the frame problem. If you are lucky and able to actually see a large Loewen in display, you can even measure the unit :-). This way, you get first-hand information rather than relying on second-hand info.

If you like wood and unsure about Loewen, a good alternative is Marvin. Another brand to check out is Andersen.

• sbutler28
    17 years ago