Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
snowqueen22_gw

FiberFrame patio doors?

snowqueen22
10 years ago

I'm a rookie at this stuff, so any information you have would be great. I found a local dealer who works with OKNA patio doors. To make a long story short, I'm thinking of going with one vinyl OKNA patio door (standard size) and one FiberFrame patio door (8ftx8ft!). Because the Fiberframe is fiberglass, I assume that's a better product than vinyl? Mainly, I don't know anything about FiberFrame but I have read on this website and others that OKNA is a solid brand. Is Fiberframe good?

Comments (13)

• HomeSealed_WI
    10 years ago

Not familiar with Fiber frame brand, but I'd look at U values and air infiltration ratings to determine how you can expect the product to perform. Okna is a top choice in that regard.

Regarding vinyl vs fiberglass: generally speaking guys that sell one will trash the other, but ultimately they each have pros and cons. It is the engineering of the product that takes advantage of the material's inherent strengths, and mitigates its weaknesses that is most important. There are great products and poor products in every material.

• PRO
    Windows on Washington Ltd
    10 years ago

+1

There are some benefits to each material but it depends in large part of what the motivations and leanings of the consumer are.