Return to the Wedding Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
wedding video failure

Posted by gr8akmom (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 4, 07 at 19:58

Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum, I'm also a m-o-t-b and need some advise or opinions. We just had my daughters wedding at a hotel here in Anchorage and I just found out the hotel wedding coordinator didn't check the batteries before the wedding for their video equipment and so didn't get video of the wedding. I guess she couldn't locate the power cord either. The grooms family are all from Austria so they were really counting on this video. I am just sick about it. I don't even want to talk to the wedding coordinator, she hasn't called, my son-in-law told me the news. Any opinions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: wedding video failure

Your most important roll at the moment would be a cheerful "We'll work something out for your in-laws" for your daughter. Do an upbeat search for folks who may have video taped or photographed the wedding on their own. Then compile what you get with a bit of gushing about how this is more 'personal' than what the results would be from someone who is paid to record the wedding.

Temper all that with some level headed unemotional discussion of how the wedding couple can go about being reimbursed for the services not rendered. I assume the contract was with the bride and/or groom rather than you since the co-ordinator has contacted them. Let them be the ones to actually handle it with her.

o

I agree with Duckie. Look for family and friends that may have taken video clips or photos. You can have still photos made into a video, though it won't be the same as having the real thing.

If the video was included in the contract as a service provided by the hotel, they are responsible for the coordinator's failure, or the operator's failure, to keep their equipment in a good operable manner.

o