Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carol_gw

RECIPE: does anyone follow a low-carb vegetarian diet?

Carol
22 years ago

Is it possible? I've been doing Atkins/Mayo diet for 7 months now. And I've lost about 35 lbs. But as a former vegetarian, it's becoming more and more difficult for me to down that meat so many times a day. However as a successful low-carb dieter, I'm scared to go back to the carbs. Beans, grains, etc (which I do love) have lots of carbs. Anyone else out there a low-carb follower who follows a veggie lifestyle?

Comments (15)

• testle_excite_com
    22 years ago

I too am in search of low/no meat, low glycemic recipes.
    --Tina

• whaleyj_anglefire_com
    22 years ago

I have been following the Suesanne Somers Somersize diet. This diet is a low-carb diet that allows you to eat complex carbohydrates(whole grain breads, pastas, rice, beans and even fruit). You have to eat the carb. meal seperate from fat/proteins, and eat fruit only on an empty stomach then after 20 mins. you can eat a carb. meal. The book I have is "Get Skinny on Fabulous Foods", there is also a Somersize website. I too have tried the Atkins diet and got tired of eating practically nothing but meat. I have been Somersizing for three months and have lost 33lbs. You might want to check this out. It is a protein diet but you have the option of eating carbs.--Judy

• foxglove159_hotmail_com
    22 years ago

You might want to explore foods with a low glycemic index. The definitive site is Rick Mendoza's.

Here is a link that might be useful: Glycemic Index Lists

• anne_primeview_com
    22 years ago

any more suggestions on this topic?

• changa
    22 years ago

Carbohydrates are essential for your central nervous system to function properly. Eat whole grains they are way better for you than refined foods.

• Corrie
    22 years ago