Return to the Vegetarian Recipe Exchange Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
RECIPE: Need good tasting wheatless bread & cookie recipes

Posted by ncredbird (My Page) on
Thu, May 14, 09 at 19:12

It has been discovered that our grandaughter is wheat intollerant and as a bread baker I would like to make some good bread for her that is wheatless. Any tried and true recipes that you might have or direct me to would be most appreciated. Also wheatless cookie recipes would be most appreciated so I have something to give her when the other grandchildren are snacking. Thanks, ncredbird

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: RECIPE: Need good tasting wheatless bread & cookie recipes

I happened upon a blog by a Canadian Mennonite woman who is has celiac. She has several recipes posted there for gluten-free breads and other baked goods that sound pretty good. It looks like she uses white bean flour instead of wheat flour.

I'm not affiliated with this person in any way.

Here is a link that might be useful: Mennonite Girls Can Cook

o

THANK YOU for that link! I grew up in Mennonite areas of Ontario and miss the traditonal baking we would buy (or I would make from recipes passed along) because I am celiac now.

I make bread in my breadmaker, but there are several wonderful books on making breads for celiacs. You can get sourdough starter (gluten free variety) and make sourdough, and other types. My favorites come from: http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/2007/01/i-am-stubborn-i-dont-give-up.html

o

Here is my favorite recipe for peanut butter cookies.....

~2 cups peanut butter
~2 cups sugar
~2 eggs
~1 teaspoon vanilla

~Preheat oven to 350. Grease cookie sheets.
~Beat peanut butter and sugar in bowl until fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla
~Roll dough into 1" balls and place 2" apart on cookie sheet. With tines of fork, press crosshatches to flatten.
~Bake 10-12 minutes. Cool on rack.